Campus News

Cooper Named Region 4 Assistant Principal of the Year

Feb 12, 2024 | Lamar CISD Communications

The Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA) has named Adolphus Elementary Assistant Principal Marilyn Cooper the 2024 Region 4 Assistant Principal of the Year. The peer-based award recognizes assistant principals from the 20 TEPSA regions across the state for their dedication to student learning and for providing exceptional school leadership.

Marilyn Cooper
Adolphus ES
TEPSA Region 4 Assistant Principal of the Year

"One of Marilyn's outstanding qualities is her innate ability to mentor and coach,” Adolphus Elementary School Principal Stacy Boarman said. “She possesses a genuine heart for guiding and nurturing others, always seeking opportunities to support their growth and achievements.” 

Cooper’s service spans more than 17 years in education. She began her time at Lamar CISD at Williams Elementary in 2016. From 2017-2020, she was the math facilitator for Velasquez Elementary. She has been the assistant principal of Adolphus Elementary since 2020.

“I share this honor with the staff, community and most of all the 1,000 plus students I have the pleasure of serving each day at Adolphus,” Cooper said.

Winning this accolade puts Cooper in the running for the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)’s National Assistant Principal of the Year Award for Texas.

Cooper and other TEPSA Region AP of the Year Award recipients will be recognized at the TEPSA Awards Dinner on Wednesday, June 12, at the Kalahari Resort in Round Rock, Texas.