

3911 Avenue I, Rosenberg, Texas 77471 | www.LCISD.org

District Contact

Chief Communications Officer Sonya Cole-Hamilton

Office: 832.223.0332 | **Cell:** 832.278.5912

Communications@LCISD.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Haugvoll & Smith Named Lamar CISD Principals of the Year

February 5, 2024 – Rosenberg, Texas – Lamar CISD recently named Laura Haugvoll of Beasley Elementary and Dr. Melissia Smith of Terry High School as the 2024 Elementary and Secondary Principals of the Year, respectively. The surprise announcement was made during a monthly Instructional Leadership Team meeting.

"To say I'm shocked is an understatement," Haugvoll said. "I'm so humbled to have been selected out of such an amazing group of colleagues. I'm truly honored."

Haugvoll has 31 years of educational experience, with 19 of those years in Lamar CISD. She began her time in the district as the Assistant Principal of Bowie Elementary in 2005. Since 2013, she has been the principal of Beasley Elementary.

"This recognition is a testament to the hard work and dedication of our entire school community - all of the individuals who have worked with me to do what is in the best interest of kids," Dr. Smith added. "I'm just so thankful and incredibly blessed."

Dr. Smith has 20 years of experience in education. She began her Lamar CISD tenure as the principal of Special Sites, supervising the Alternative Learning Center, 1621 place, and the Fort Bend County Juvenile Detention Center's educational division. In 2023, she was named principal of Terry High School.

For photos, please click HERE.

###

ABOUT LAMAR CISD

As one of the fastest growing districts in Texas, Lamar CISD encompasses 385 miles in Fort Bend County. The District serves more than 44,500 students at 48 campuses throughout 15 municipalities which include Beasley, Fairchilds ETJ, Fulshear, Houston ETJ, Katy, Kendleton, Missouri City ETJ, Orchard ETJ, Pleak, Richmond, Rosenberg, Simonton, Sugar Land, Thompsons, and Weston Lakes.