Campus Phone: (832)223-2300

Administrative Team

Principal  Carla Thomas cathomas@lcisd.org  832-223-2300 
Assistant Principal Maria Marrero mmarrero@lcisd.org  832-223-2300
Diagnostician Shawnye Thomas  sthomas@lcisd.org  832-223-2320
Speech Therapist Marla Moss mmoss02@lcisd.org  832-223-2335 
Administrative Assistant Diane Zepeda dzepeda@lcisd.org  832-223-2303 
Receptionist  Diana Gutierrez  digutierrez@lcisd.org 832-223-2300
Thomas_Carla_53

Carla A. Thomas
Principal
832-223-2300

Marrero, Maria

Maria Marrero
Assistant Principal
832-223-2300

I have been an educator for over twenty-four years and employed at Deaf Smith Elementary in LCISD for almost eleven years.  At Smith, I have served in the following capacities; Kindergarten teacher, 1st grade teacher,  5th grade Teacher, At-Risk/Reading Facilitator, Assistant Principal and currently the campus Principal. I received my undergraduate degree from the University of Houston-Downtown and my masters degree from the University of Houston-Victoria.  I am honored to be a member of the LCISD and SuperStar family.

​​I received my undergraduate degree at the University of Houston and my masters degree from Lamar University.  In my 18 years as an educator, I have served as a Bilingual Kindergarten Teacher, a Reading Specialist, a Literacy Coach, an Instructional Coordinator and currently I have the privilege of being the Assistant Principal at Smith Elementary.  I am excited to be part of Lamar CISD and proud to be a SuperStar!