Mumphord, Haack named Principals of the Year

Mar 21, 2014 | Community Relations

Karen Mumphord (L) and Leslie Haack (R)

Dickinson Elementary School’s Karen Mumphord is Lamar Consolidated ISD’s 2014 Elementary Principal of the Year and George Ranch High School’s Leslie Haack is the 2014 Secondary Principal of the Year. Both were honored by their peers at a meeting of the District’s administrators.

Mumphord became principal at Dickinson in 2003. Prior to taking the helm at Dickinson, she served as an assistant principal at Dickinson from 1999 to 2003. Mumphord was an assistant principal at Smith Elementary from 1995-1999.

Prior to entering administration, Mumphord taught elementary grades in Lamar CISD and Victoria schools, and was a teacher and coach at Lamar Junior High.

Mumphord recently completed her doctorate at Texas A&M University.

Leslie Haack has lead George Ranch High School since it opened in the fall of 2010.

She has 16 years of experience in education, including three years as a teacher and coach, three years as an assistant principal at Cinco Ranch HS and four years as an administrative assistant principal at Morton Ranch HS.

Prior to coming to GRHS, Haack was principal of Sealy High School.  

Each year, Lamar CISD principals choose two of their colleagues to be the principals of the year. Only elementary principals (grades K-5) vote for Elementary Principal of the Year and only secondary principals (grades 6-12) vote on Secondary Principal of the Year.