

District Contact

Chief Communications Officer Sonya Cole-Hamilton

Office: 832.223.0332 | Cell: 832.278.5912

Communications@LCISD.org

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Lamar Classroom Teachers Association Honors Teachers & Paraprofessionals of the Year

April 25, 2023 – Rosenberg, Texas – On the evening of April 19, the Lamar Classroom Teachers Association (LCTA) honored almost 100 Lamar CISD teachers and paraprofessionals of the year and selected four ultimate winners in each category, during the annual recognition banquet at the Houston Marriott Sugar Land.

Teachers of the Year

Elementary Campuses

Megan Scudder, Adolphus ES Maria Marrero, Arredondo ES Tiffany Broxson, Austin ES Tamisha Brooks, Beasley ES Kelly Isbell, Bentley ES Tamika Thiergood, Bowie ES Christina Pereira, Campbell ES Shavonne Tracy, Carter ES Christina Roehling, Culver ES Dawn Hopkins, Dickinson ES Emma Engelhardt, Frost ES Marlesa Morton, Hubenak ES Laura Young, Huggins ES Sophie Morris, Hutchison ES Anne Wertz, Jackson ES Alissa Scanlin, Long ES Amy Nanez, Lindsev ES Katherine McDonald, McNeill ES Brittney Hill, Meyer ES Mallory Johns, Morgan ES Sharon Horn, Phelan ES

Secondary Campuses

Desmond Johnson, Special Sites

Tammy Green, Foster HS

Tracey Jensen, Fulshear HS Anjanette Marcano, George Ranch HS Richard Bailey, Lamar Consolidated HS Soraya Soto, Randle HS Justin Gougler, Terry HS Javonne Brooks, Briscoe JH Stephen Koen, George JH Rebecca Ansley, Lamar JH Annie O'Connor, Leaman JH Travis Gann, Reading JH Sarah Brackin, Wright JH

Hermoine Gallow, Navarro MS

Tracy Kubeczka, Roberts MS Craig Crawford, Ryon MS Cynthia Haley, Wertheimer MS James Cook, Wessendarff MS

Paraprofessionals of the Year

Elementary Campuses

Melissa Carpenter, Adolphus ES Diana Hernandez, Arredondo ES Patricia Hopkins, Austin ES Amy Cloud, Beasley ES Joyce Castillo, Bentley ES Mariana Ramirez, Bowie ES Debra Payne, Campbell ES Amy Castellanos, Carter ES Wanda Mercer, Culver ES Andrea Yocum, Dickinson ES Zara Kashif, Frost ES Heather Medlock, Hubenak ES Lela Brown, Huggins ES Zeina Moubayed, Hutchison ES Lydia Rosilez, Jackson ES Victoria Montgomery, Long ES Rose Marin, Lindsey ES Elizabeth Isom, McNeill ES Susan Evans, Meyer ES

Stacy Jacob, Morgan ES Xavier Villaloboz, Phelan ES

Claudette Gamboa. Pink ES Diana Trevino, Ray ES Alicia Rubio, Seguin ES Kenye Martinez, Smith ES Julie Little, Tamarron ES Olivia Leonard, Thomas ES Shanta Ellis, Travis ES Amber Staley, Velasquez ES Ana Espinoza, Williams ES

Secondary Campuses

Kymberly Sydow, ALC Dina Barboza, Foster HS Shelley Ward, Fulshear HS Bonnibelle Mendez, George Ranch HS Shila Ahmad, Lamar Consolidated HS Roxanne Villafranco, Randle HS Sharol Lerma, Terry HS Erica Camarillo, Briscoe JH Crystal Arriaga, George JH Nicole Lintz, Lamar JH Jennifer Leslie, Leaman JH Tammy Korenek, Reading JH Monica Martinez, Wright JH Olga Garcia, Navarro MS Kendall Dodgen, Roberts MS Melissa Jozwiak, Ryon MS

Cheryl McGill, Wertheimer MS

Cynthia Garcia, Wessendorff MS

Dolores Rosales, Travis ES Danielle Cadenhead, Velasquez ES

Rolanda Mitchell, Pink ES Rose Mary Martinez, Seguin ES

Lakeshia Jackson, Smith ES Crystal Thompkins, Tamanon ES

Gene Mark Hudgson, Ray ES

Brooke Johnston, Thomas ES

Franciska McCullough, Williams ES

"The 2022- 2023 Teacher and Paraprofessional Banquet was a huge celebration with over 700 people in attendance," LCTA President Sara Ryan said. "Lamar Classroom Teachers Association was excited to share the evening with all our honorees and show them how appreciated they are. Congratulations to our winners who shared so much passion and joy for education in their essays. Congratulations to our scholarship winners as well. We wish them luck with their education and hope to see some of them return to Lamar CISD as teachers someday. We cannot wait to do it all again next year!"

Each winner received a monetary award in addition to a trophy in their respective categories.

"Every day is a great day to celebrate our teachers and paraprofessionals for the work they do with our students," Superintendent Dr. Roosevelt Nivens said. "These men and women put their heart into this job, and it is important that we take the time to recognize them for raising the standards of excellence. Congratulations to all the nominees."

Danielle Cadenhead of Velasquez Elementary School was named the 2023 Elementary Teacher of the Year and has been with the District for six years. "I am so proud to receive this award from the same district that inspired me to become a teacher many years ago," Cadenhead shared. "I am beyond honored to have been chosen as the 2023 Elementary Teacher of the Year!"

Hermoine Gallow of Navarro Middle School was named the 2023 Secondary Teacher of the Year and has been with the District for 16 years. "I'm still in awe of the honor," Gallow shared. "Every day I am inspired by my school community to do the work that I do."

Xavier Villaloboz of Phelan Elementary School was named the 2023 Elementary Paraprofessional of the Year and has been with the District for four years. "I was extremely honored to be chosen as Paraprofessional of the Year for my campus," Villaloboz shared. "When my name was called at the dinner, I was so shocked and honored that the District chose me. I am truly grateful."

Cheryl McGill of Wertheimer Middle School was named the 2023 Secondary Paraprofessional of the Year and has been with the District for 15 years. "I love my school family and am blessed to be a part of this growing district, so this award truly means a lot to me," McGill shared.

In addition to honoring educators of the year, LCTA awarded six scholarships to graduating students and a professional scholarship to staff member Amanda Elliott of Travis Elementary School. Elliott has been with the District for 17 years and the monetary award will further her academic studies. "I am honored," Elliott said. "It feels great to be able to say that it will be used to assist me in my final semester of graduate school."

To view photos of the top four winners, please click **HERE**.

To download the full list of winners, please click **HERE**.

###