2020 Special Sites Logo

Alternative Learning Center

Alternative Learning Center (ALC) is Lamar CISD’s Disciplinary Alternative Education Program (DAEP). LCISD provides a school-community guidance center to assist students with behavioral problems that interfere with education, for grades Kindergarten to 12th grade. Students who engage in serious misconduct, that mandates removal to a DAEP, are reassigned to the Alternative Learning Center. 

Students in grades K-5 may be placed at ALC for 3 to 6 weeks. Students, in grades 6 - 12, may be assigned between 45 and 90 days. ALC collaborates with local law enforcement agencies, the Fort Bend Truancy Project, the Fort Bend County Juvenile Probation Department, Fort Bend Regional Council, Texana Mental Health Authority, IntraCare, Houston Galveston Institute, and other agencies serving youth and parents. We work together to identify and correct factors that adversely affect the education of students attending The Alternative Learning Center.

A structured academic and behavioral program is utilized to teach appropriate social skills and self-discipline. A combination of Restorative Disciplinary Practices and PBIS Rewards are implemented at ALC. PBIS Rewards is used to promote Positive Behavioral Interventions and Support at ALC. The multi-device platform makes it easy to continuously recognize and reward students for meeting academic and behavior expectations. Through restorative practices, staff members and students develop a sense of community and manage conflict and tensions by repairing harm and building relationships.

Uniform dress is required at ALC. Parents are required to attend Parent Education and support sessions during their child’s ALC assignment.

holdworths logo

Address: 1708 Avenue M Rosenberg, Texas 77471

Location Map


School Hours:
7:45 am - 4:00 pm

Class Hours 8:00 am - 3:45 pm

Intake/Registration:
Tuesday, Wednesday, & Thursdays @ 1:00 p.m.

Both student and parent/guardian must be present for Intake/Registration.

Registration/Intake required before the student may attend ALC. 







2020 Special Sites Logo

Alternative Learning Center Staff Members:

Special Sites Principal:
Dr. Melissia Smith
melissia.smith@lcisd.org
(832) 223-0953 (Office)


Special Sites Assist. Principal:
Ms. Rebecca Schultz
rschultz@lcisd.org
(832) 223-0907

Nurse:
Mrs. Mary Enriquez
menriquez@lcisd.org
(832) 223-0906

Student Liaison:
Mrs. Eva de la Garza
edelagarza@lcisd.org
(832) 223-0900

Academic Counselor:
Ms. Stephanie Grantham
sgrantham@lcisd.org 
(832) 223-0905

Attendance Clerk:
Mrs. Lucy Guiterrez
lguiterrez@lcisd.org
(832) 223-0915

Behavior/Drug Counselor:
Mr. Frank Izoura
fizoura@lcisd.org
(832) 223-0922

Admin. Assistant/Registrar:
Mrs. Kim Sydow
ksydow@lcisd.org
(832) 223-0903
(832) 223-0901 (Fax)


 


Mrs. Julie Barber
Junior High School English/ESL 
jbarber@lcisd.org

Mrs. Jody Driskell 
Junior High School Science
jdriskell@lcisd.org

Mr. Christopher Morse
Electives/PE
smorse@lcisd.org

Mr. James Robinson
Special Education  
jrobinson@lcisd.org

Ms. Michelle Taylor
Junior High School Social Studies
mitaylor@lcisd.org

Ms. Teresa Velasquez
Electives/PE
tvelasquez@lcisd.org

Mrs. Jackie Ogunlana
Instructional Aide
jogunlana@lcisd.org





Mrs. Christina Blackmon 
High School Science/ESL 
cblackmon@lcisd.org 

Dr. Erika Bogarty    
CTE/Electives
erika.bogarty@lcisd.org

Mrs. Sheri Cooper  
High School Social Studies 
scooper@lcisd.org 

Mrs. Adriana Cruz-Cotton 
Electives 
adriana.cruzcotto@lcisd.org

Mrs. Beverly Janek
High School ELA/ESL
bjanek@lcisd.org 

Mr. Robert Palmer 
Ag./CTE 
rpalmer@lcisd.org  

Ms. Natasha Ware 
Instructional Aide
nware@lcisd.org

Ms. Bobbi Yell
Instructional Aide
bobbi.yell@lcisd.org