Lamar CISD will be open and operating on a regular schedule on Thursday, January 18.


Lamar Classroom Teachers name Teachers and Paraprofessionals of the Year

Jun 07, 2013 | Community Relations

Teachers and paraprofessionals from across Lamar CISD were recognized at the Lamar Classroom Teachers Association’s annual banquet, held Thursday, May 23 at Safari Texas Ranch.

Campbell Elementary music teacher Sue Austin is the Elementary Teacher of the Year and Reading Junior High English teacher Ann Cantu is the Secondary Teacher of the Year for Lamar CISD.

Dorothea Enax, attendance clerk at Lamar Junior High, is the Secondary Paraprofessional of the Year and Velma Bauer, teacher’s aide at Velasquez Elementary is the Elementary Paraprofessional of the Year.


The nominees for Secondary Teacher of the Year were: 
Emanuel Ibe, ALC; Timothy Bristol, Briscoe Jr. High; Jared Murphy, Foster High School; Lisa B. McNally, George Jr. High; Gary Gazaway George Ranch High School; Kristin Rausch, Lamar Consolidated High School; Robin Nash, Lamar Jr. High; Javonne Grant, Navarro Middle School; Shanna Wenzel, Terry High School; Michele Broom, Wertheimer Middle; and  Brenda Kort-Sanchez, Wessendorff Middle.


Candidates for Elementary Teacher of the Year were:
Lorrie M. Rackar, Austin Elementary; Sarah Chernohorsky, Beasley Elementary; Tamra Rhoden, Bowie Elementary; Megan Hogg, Dickinson Elementary; Alicia Roberts, Frost Elementary; Carrie Grigar, Hubenak Elementary; Christine Jaster, Huggins Elementary; Kelley Emmott, Hutchison Elementary; Lisa Moss, Jackson Elementary; Sarah Graham, Long Elementary; Ashley Hayes, McNeill Elementary; Natalie Oaks, Meyer Elementary; Stacie Johnson, Pink Elementary; Youngmee Hsu, Ray Elementary; Lydia C. Torres, Seguin Early Childhood Center; Dolores Perez, Smith Elementary; Pamela Clayton Thomas Elementary; Rebecca Hlavinka Travis Elementary; LaShun King Velasquez Elementary;  and Kasey Sorbel, Williams Elementary.


The nominees for Elementary Paraprofessional of the Year were:
Cathy Willis, Austin Elementary; Sheri Hajovsky, Beasley Elementary; Sandra Lopez, Bowie Elementary; Gloria Smith, Campbell Elementary; Kristen Santana, Dickinson Elementary; Patricia Ball, Frost Elementary; Judith Medina, Hubenak Elementary; Rosalie Ramirez, Huggins Elementary; Kristina Magallan, Hutchison Elementary; Maria L. Gonzales, Jackson Elementary; Joyce Thomas, Long Elementary; Meredith Vance, McNeill Elementary; Diane Wood, Meyer Elementary; Julie Chapa, Pink Elementary; Brenda Gonzalez Valdez, Ray Elementary; Mary Santana, Seguin Early Childhood Center; Ryan Brady, Smith Elementary; Tonya Head, Thomas Elementary; Jeanette Vasquez, Travis Elementary; and Wanda Polk, Williams Elementary.


The nominees for Secondary Paraprofessional of the Year were:
Apifania Nanes, ALC; Secundino Alameda, Navarro Middle School; Cheryl McGill, Wertheimer Middle School; Clarita Cantrell, Wessendorff Middle School; Sandi Tamez, Briscoe Jr. High; Devona Green, George Jr. High; Tammy Korenek, Reading Jr. High; Delores Sanchez, Foster High School; Nikki Agner, George Ranch High School; Natalie Crump, Lamar Consolidated High School; and Betsy Foster, Terry High School.