Menu

Immigrant

Lamar Consolidated ISD provides supplemental educational services to students born outside the United States who have been attending school in the U.S for less than three complete academic years. The program helps students improve their academic skills and maintain school achievement. Services offered include intensive ESL classes, supplemental classroom materials, counseling services, parent outreach, and information on college opportunities for immigrant students regardless of documentation status.

All students enrolling in Lamar CISD present a copy of their birth certificate upon enrollment in school. This along with the information from the registration form identifies students born outside the U.S.

The PEIMS definition of immigrant for the purposes of educational support is:

Individuals who are aged 3 through 21, were not born in any state, and have not been attending one or more schools in any one or more states for more than 3 full academic years. The term ‘State’ means each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

Lamar CISD receives Federal Title III Immigrant Education Program funds under the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 (Public Law 107-110) based upon an increase in enrollment of immigrants over a two year period. These funds are used to enhance Immigrant Students basic education as well as give teachers the tools to assist in the academic success of Immigrant students.

Location:

Each campus housing immigrant students is eligible for the additional funds and supplemental materials provided by the Accelerated Language Programs Department.

Gloria Stewart
Director BIL ESL Curriculum & Instruction
gstewart@lcisd.org
832-223-0127

Jacqueline Ortega
ALP Dept. Secretary
jortega@lcisd.org
832-223-0439

Kim Lybarger
ALP Facilitator
klybarger@lcisd.org
832-223-0438

Susana Benitez
ALP Facilitator
sbenitez@lcisd.org
832-223-0410

John Davin
ALP Secondary Facilitator
jdavin@lcisd.org
832-223-0412

Marylou Garcia
ALP Facilitator
mgarcia@lcisd.org
832-223-0411

Eva Sakkis
District Translator
esakkis@lcisd.org
832-223-0443